Blue Friday

This has to have been one of the most disappointing Black Fridays of all time.  Granted, it has been close to 8 years since I went shopping on that infamous day of Holiday cheer, but still…I awoke at 2:30 in the morning, pulled my hair up in a ponytail, put on my best Santa sweatshirt (he’s winking and everything)  and struck out to find the best bargains this Holiday season had to offer.  With the aid of my Sister-in-Law we were going to leave no stone unturned until we had been in every relevant store and fought our way through to the very best deals.  Instead what we found when we got to my favorite department store was an up-front parking place in an almost empty lot and one very tired store manager handing out snow globes.  He was so excited to see us it was almost sad.  We had no trouble finding what we wanted and we didn’t even have to wait in line to pay for our stuff.  I gleaned from the clerk who checked me out that they had their employees there from 7pm on Thanksgiving until 7am that next morning.  They were zombies attempting to be cheerful.  At any time I expected her to just face plant into the counter.  The same theme continued throughout the mall.  Every store we entered was the same basic formula: Employees who were worn completely out and sales that were no better than they were the weekend before.  You could almost hear crickets in the mall itself.  Not even the mall walkers were out yet.  Honestly, the only place we encountered a competitive spirit was at the IHOP and that was among the wait staff over who was going to get us in their section.  The lady who won was old, but scrappy.  Well played, Edna…well played.

 What has greed done to this nation?  I used to feel sorry for the workers (myself included many years) who had to get up and be at their stations by 3:00 so the stores could open at 4am on Black Friday.  Now it has become common to just be open on Thanksgiving like any other day or open “early” at 8:00pm on Thanksgiving evening.  In the old days all you could really do on Thanksgiving was go see a movie.  This was great for the movie industry and great for the retail industry because it made people think that something special was happening on Friday, something wonderful, and something that will never happen again apparently.  Well, you can bet than next year THIS girl will be sleeping in until at least 8 before heading out to see what “deals” exist.  And to think I did all that prep work for nothing.  I practiced my “mall walk” and my “elbow moves” and had no one to use it on.  What a shame.  (It’s really something to see.)  I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

