Who’s Your Daddy?

You know, recently I have been hearing a lot from certain friends who don’t believe in God who tell me that they can’t possibly believe in such a “wrathful” God and how could a righteous God allow certain things to happen.  I would like to respond by saying that the complete opposite is true.  When I accepted Jesus, I became a child of God…a full-fledged adopted child of the Holy GOD.  That’s right.  God is my daddy.  Like any good father, when I do things I shouldn’t do, I’m bound to get scolded or occasionally just have to pay the consequences of my own stupidity.  Think about it like this:

So, how many of you got in trouble when you were little and got a spanking?  Maybe you got put in time out or had something you loved taken from you for a time or all together because you couldn’t behave.  Now let’s look at this on a larger scale.   God does the same thing with His children only it is felt much more because of who is doing the scolding and the taking away.  Not to mention if you will recall, a day is as a thousand years to God.  Maybe He only put you in time out for a few minutes by His clock, but to us that is several years.    Everything He tells us to do in His word is for our protection.  When we get scolded sometimes it is to teach us a lesson, but sometimes it is to teach generations after us what not to do.  Either way God has a plan and that plan is to keep us safe and out of harm’s way.  The problem is that we are human and more than a little dense.  We like to think that we know best and we are the boss of us and we will do what we want.  I don’t think so.  I’m not perfect.  I do a lot of things I shouldn’t and I always pay the price.  Occasionally I have the good sense to step back, shake my head and say “yep…good one, God.  I was an idiot.” 

The point is, we are so very lucky to have the ability to just go to God any time we want and talk things out.  We can tell Him we love him and that we are sorry or thank Him for the great things He does for us every day.  We don’t have to go through some ritual or through another person.  We can just talk to Him like we would our father because that’s exactly what He is.  I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty glad to be a part of THAT royal family.  I might be poor here on earth, but I’m rich in the things that count and that’s why I’m able to keep a smile on my face no matter what is happening around me.  It’s because I know everything will work out in the end.  My Daddy said so.  :o)

I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

