Freak the Freak Out

Leave it to your family to make you realize just how “special” you really are.  It was at a family gathering today that I realized that I was, in fact, the weirdo in my group.  You know how, when you look around and everyone else seems pretty normal compared to you and…oh wait…no…that only happens to me. 

So, when I was a kid I remember that my mom would use whatever she had that was old and unusable any more to dust the furniture.  It could be a t-shirt that had too many holes for my dad to wear or an old night gown of mine that was almost see through because it was so worn out.  The best dust rags were always worn out underwear though.  They were small enough and the softest cotton.  Usually these were either Dad’s or hers.  Nobody ever saw them but us and they were mostly unrecognizable at that point, so what did it matter?  Today I revealed that I still do this and was looked at like maybe I had just stripped naked and danced with the cat.  Apparently I’m the only one who took that little nugget of wisdom and ran with it. 

Another thing I remember from childhood was something my dear Grandmother would do.  She lived through both the Depression and the Great War and pretty much raised her kids on her own after her husband died so she learned to be very frugal.  One of the things she would do was to sew up her nylons with whatever she had available so that they would last longer, because she never knew when she would be able to buy more.  When I was young, I remember that she still did this.  The first time I saw her nude colored nylons sewed up I thought she had undergone some major surgery she forgot to tell us about.  She looked a little like one of the candidates for Frankenstein’s bride from the waiste down.  When the hosiery was no longer usable she would cut the feet off and save them.

Soap was also something she saved.  When the soap would get down to the last sliver, she would put those slivers in the feet of the saved nylons.  When she had enough in there she would tie them up and WAHLAH!  You have a new bar of soap!!  This is something that I also ran with.  Apparently I’m the only one.  It just sounded logical to me.  I’ll never forget the day when my daughter saw me do this and asked me, “Mommy, why do you have panty hose full of soap under the sink?”  I started to reply, “Well, hon, because you never know when you are going to run out of soap and you might need this.”  She looked at me as you might imagine she would and I stopped to realize exactly how it sounded.  I quietly closed the cabinet door and never spoke of it again until last week when I forgot to buy my face soap at the store and didn’t realize it until I got home and was out.  Guess what I did!  That’s right…I pulled that sucker out, cut off the foot and tied it up.  I have soap now for AT LEAST 3 weeks.  Who’s the weirdo now?  I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

