Going Public

Recently I decided to go public with what I want to do for a living for the rest of my life. Unfortunately, nobody seems to understand why or think that I will be successful. I plan to prove that last part wrong. At any rate, I’ve been a secretary pretty much all my life. I always enjoyed the work, but it seems that with outsourcing and so much being done electronically these days that we are being phased out like the telephone operators of old. I have an inherent need to help people in some way and I love organization, thus, I decided I would become a professional organizer. I’m on my way there. I have my business name decided on and I’ve sent out the word to try to get customers. Nobody has called yet, but I still need to design my website and get some cards made. Anyway…I’m getting off topic. I have been getting in as much practice as I can with my own home and with family as well. My latest venture was trying to clear out half of my parents’ basement so that they could get their back wall repaired. It is caving in. I’ve spent a lot of time down there in the last month. I found treasures of my childhood and things I had no idea existed. (I also found some petrified cat pooh but you can’t have everything.) I got dirty and hot and when I was done you could see the walls and the floor back there. It was a feeling of great accomplishment and I loved every minute of it.

My parents and my siblings all keep trying to understand why I was working so hard at it and gave me some looks like maybe I had lost my mind somewhere down there, but what they don’t understand is that this is it! This is what I want to do forever. I mean, I watch hoarders and get all excited thinking, “Look at all that work!” (Yeah, I’m a little off, but we knew that already.) It is sort of like a treasure hunt for the people you are assisting and when you are done they have the feeling of a weight being lifted because NOW they know what they have AND they can find it.

I guess I said all that to say that there is a need for every profession. We may not understand why someone wants to do what they do, but in most cases we should all be glad there is someone out there willing to do it. I mean, can you imagine life with no sanitation workers or people to man the Taco Bell? So, don’t call me crazy for wanting to pick up and organize your stuff. Just call me. Seriously…I need the business. I’m just sayin…

2 thoughts on “Going Public

  1. I understand and I fully support your business plan. Without you this cleanup would have not been accomplished. I can’t tell you how thankful that I am for your hard work. :0)

Leave a Reply

