Reflections

You know, I haven’t really had a lot to say lately. This time of year always has me moving at warp speed, but this year I am feeling extra stress, despite having finished my shopping a whole week before Christmas. Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day and some days it feels there are entirely too many.

This year has thrown us many curves that none of us expected. It’s hard watching the people you care about decline in health and knowing that there is nothing you can do about it but help them with basic things. Sometimes I get pretty angry that this is all happening, but for the most part I have accepted it as all part of the plan. Everything that happens is for a reason. That’s the peace I have. Sometimes you just have to realize that as much as you might like for it to be different you are NOT in control. Instead I have chosen to educate myself on the problems and attack with what little strength I have in the situation. I may not be able to cure the problem, but I can make the symptoms a little less for them. I am a reader and I believe in educating yourself if you can. That is my defense…knowing all I can about what I am up against.

I’m also feeling my age this year. My baby girl is ten for crying out loud! TEN! The time has flown. I knew it would, but this is ridiculous. I feel like just yesterday she was toddling around the house throwing books at my face and laughing. (She did this a lot as a toddler.) Now she is helping me cook and going shopping with me and doing our nails together. She’s my best friend in a lot of ways. I can’t imagine life without her.

This year has brought me closer to my siblings for sure. That’s one thing I’m thankful for. We have always been pretty tight, but dealing with certain issues together has brought us much closer. I think we will survive our current situation much stronger than before and I truly believe we will always be close as a family. We just have to continue to find the humor in everyday things and keep each other grounded.

So, I guess what I’m saying to you all today is keep the ones you love close to you. Never fail to tell someone how you feel, assuming they already know. Never complain about your loved ones wanting to spend time with you. There may come a day when there is no more time and those memories are all you will have. I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

