On My Soapbox

Okay, so I’m going to hop up on my soapbox today. I’m perplexed. I looked up the information on the effects of tobacco. Per the CDC, more than 16 million Americans suffer from a disease that is caused by smoking. Worldwide, tobacco use causes more than five million deaths per YEAR. On average, smokers die 10 years younger than non-smokers. It cost more than $133 BILLION in direct medical care for adults last year. That’s a crap ton of money spent on people who are killing THEMSELVES. How is tobacco still legal? I have to sign my name and beg for a single box of Sudafed these days because I MIGHT be one of those normal looking people who makes meth with it. This is a product that I need FOR my health that I have to beg for and can only get in small quantities these days. Tobacco? No problem! Here…buy as much as you want. Oh…but be sure not to breathe on anyone else while you are smoking because it affects their health too. What’s that? You have a baby…of course…be sure to lock them in a car with you while you light up because they have so much choice in what you are doing to them. Second hand smoke can cause a number of different types of cancer, heart disease, asthma and a plethora of respiratory infections. In children, more ear infections and flu cases occur in homes where there is a smoker.  All this and I didn’t even have to pay extra. How nice!

I am not a fool. I realize that there is WAY too much money in tobacco and pharmaceuticals to think that this will ever be outlawed, but just think how much that would save a very much ailing healthcare system. Costs would plummet because there would be a massive reduction in patients suffering from things like lung cancer and emphysema and COPD. Heck! Even many sinus issues would be cleared up if people didn’t have to live around all that second-hand smoke. I’m not saying it would be a perfect world, but it would be a MUCH healthier one. Lobby your congressmen and senators. It can’t hurt. I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

