In the Running

You know what? I have a lot of friends who are “runners.” They train for this marathon and that marathon and are always busy because they have to prepare. Many of these are fine folks. I love them and they are good people. There are a couple, however, who enjoy making you feel small because you don’t “train” or run every day. They have this air of superiority about them like they are better than you. Let’s break this down into perspective though, shall we? While you got up at 4am to run your 5 miles I got up at 4am to get ready for work, prepare breakfast for my daughter, lunch for myself, walk the dog (twice), feed the cats, feed the bunny and feed the fishes. Then I left my house and worked for 8 hours. After work I went to the nursing home to look in on my mom and help her with supper. I got home around 6:30 or 7 that evening, prepared a meal for my own family and then went to bed by 9. That goes on for five days, then we get to the weekend. While you are running in your race, I have done ten loads of laundry, dusted the furniture, vacuumed, mopped, cleaned two bathrooms, cooked meals for my family, checked on my mom, done the grocery shopping and (if I’m lucky) washed the dog. You, however, just paid somebody to run down the street for a few hours. Congratulations. You must feel so accomplished. While you find accomplishment in your own body, I find it in spending time with my family, whom I love. Now, kindly lose your attitude.

While we are on the topic of self-important people, let’s talk about these women who have a litter of kids and want to talk about how difficult their lives are. Here’s the thing…having kids is tough. Perhaps if you didn’t figure that out after the first one and stop, like I did, then maybe #s 2 or 3 could have clued you in. The fact that you have multiple children and your life is a rat race does not make you any better or more accomplished than those of us who stopped at one offspring. I am not denying that you are losing your mind running around here and there taking care of all of them. It is hard. NO question. Please, however, don’t complain about it. You lost the right to complain after #3. I know, I’m a cold woman…perhaps…but I’m a woman with enough sense to know when to quit. I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

