Newsworthy

I read an article today in which archeologists have discovered that the Mayan laid out their cities in a grid pattern. This is being hailed as amazing. I don’t understand why everybody gets all giddy when they find out how advanced an ancient civilization was. My thinking is that it just makes sense. Maybe they didn’t have the advanced tools that we have now, but they probably had common sense, don’t you think? They might have figured out that designing their city made it stronger and more easily navigated than just throwing something up willy-nilly. Architects weren’t just dropped on the planet a few years ago by the aliens who built the pyramids. (yes…I’m joking).

I also read an article today that said Taiwan was in an uproar because Katy Perry wore a dress with sunflowers while she was there performing and it made some kind of negative political statement. Hey, guys…I’m just spit-balling here but I am pretty sure she just wore it because it had flowers on the bosoms. I suppose if they had been daisies instead she would be allowed back in the country. Ya’ll need to calm down over there.

A friend of mine posted an article the other day from somewhere where this lady was all in a tizzy because the Megan Trainer song “All About That Base” sent a bad message. Something about not making people who don’t have curves feel bad about that fact and that our value to men shouldn’t define us. Um, this is just a fun little song, Lady. Let’s not make it more than it is. And while I agree that our value to men shouldn’t define us I think you would be hard pressed to find a woman who doesn’t at least care what a man thinks of her. We don’t wear makeup for ourselves, honey.

I guess the moral of the story today is that people need to lighten up a little. Stop trying to find the amazing or wrong in absolutely everything. Stop getting your feelings hurt over things that truly don’t matter. If my husband tells me I’m fat and ugly, THEN I’ll be offended. If a singer writes a song that says my body type isn’t her favorite and wears something I don’t like while she sings it I think I will not take to media to call her out on it. I will just turn the station. We have that option…I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

