“Gray” Anatomy

I’m a native Nashvillian. I love my city. What I don’t love is what they are doing with our interstate. There was a time when traveling through our area was a pleasant thing. I’m not even talking about the construction issues of late. My problem with our interstates is all the “noise dampening” walls that they have erected. Basically now, once you leave the Rivergate area, all you see is gray, concrete walls on either side of you until you get almost downtown. Not only do I miss seeing the trees and the neighbor hoods, but it is a bit like being in a video game during certain times of day. I mean, you are already taking your life in your own hands just trying to navigate the construction zones and lane changes, but now we are doing it on an enclosed track.

My second issue with driving here has to do with the medians. I’m not sure what genius thought of this, but taking out the patch of grass in the middle and replacing it with just a concrete wall (there’s that boring concrete again) or adding to the grassy areas a barrier of wire fencing is just asking for more traffic altering wrecks. I can’t tell you how many times I get stuck in traffic because one car barely clipped another and sent it into a spin only to bounce off of that concrete wall and tie up the entire left lane. The wires in the median is just the same thing…something for a car to bounce off of rather than coming to a stop in the grass. To me, it just adds more danger.

Also, they need to stop utilizing the “Smart Way” boards unless there is something to actually tell us. Putting messages up there telling us not to drive distracted is in itself distracting. I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

