Exercising Judgement

I don’t really know what to say anymore. I have been told that I am very judgmental, but I don’t see it that way. To me that means looking down your nose at someone like they are less than you. I am opinionated for sure. If I see something I don’t like I’m going to say something probably. I don’t care for tattoos, but I have many friends who have them. My opinion of tattoos doesn’t mean that I think less of the person for having one. It just means that I think they are crazy. I’m not going to NOT be their friend because of it. Same goes for smokers and dudes with long hair and people who vote for democrats. I have friends and family members in all of these categories and I love them dearly. Do I agree with their choices? No. Does that mean I’m judging them? No…it means I disagree with them. There is a huge difference. I don’t think I’m any better than anyone else. I might possess more class and dignity, but that doesn’t mean I’m better. It is just a different way of life.

Sometimes it pays to be a little judgy though. I mean, if I’m anywhere with my child and I see certain nefarious types about I will not just smile and hope they are friendly…I will walk faster or perhaps lock my door. You should be careful who you associate with. Does that mean I’m judging the people I don’t care to spend time with? Maybe…but maybe that’s a good thing too. You should be careful who you surround yourself with as you will take on the characteristics of those people more often than they will take on yours. If this makes me someone who judges then so be it. I say it makes me wise. I’m just sayin.

Leave a Reply

