Trans-Actions

I have been quiet for a while, but another controversy has arisen that I feel the need to comment on.  Here in Tennessee there is a bill in play that will prevent trans-gendered persons from using the restroom of the gender they identify with.  I have mixed feelings about this.  There are some legitimate people out there who have done everything they can to convert to the gender they most closely identify with.  These are the people I feel for where this is concerned.  Imagine if you are a man, who has undergone surgery to appear female, you dress in heels and a skirt and then you are made to go into the men’s room.  These people endure enough ridicule as it is.  Would I be upset if someone in this scenario were in the ladies room with me and my daughter?  No.  Do you know why?  Because that person isn’t there to check out women.  She is not interested in the least in women in that capacity.  Same for a woman who wants to be a man.  Do we honestly think he is in there checking out the men/boys in there with him?  No.  Not even kind of.

Where I do have a problem with allowing trans-gendered people using these restrooms is in the instances of the perverts who will abuse this.  I think we all know that there will be cross-dressers (not actual trans-gendered people) who will do this just to raise eyebrows.  There will also be some very sick people who will try to say they feel that way, even though they really don’t.

My proposal to stop all of this insanity is just to have a bathroom added that is non-gender.  It would only really need to be one room…not a bunch of stalls.  In cases where a family restroom is already provided they could just use that instead.  It could become standard issue just like having a handicap stall is required.  This would alleviate the stress for the person as well as take away any arguments against their rights as human beings.  Most places I have been have at least one restroom that is considered a “family” room because it is large enough for a stroller and has a baby changing table.  This allows for fathers with kids to also have a place to change them, as most of those tables are only found in ladies rooms.  Why would this be so difficult to implement?

Every human being, no matter how you feel about their personal beliefs, deserves to be treated with respect and dignity. I mean, if I have to call some redneck she-devil a “lady” for the sake of toileting then I’m pretty sure I can call someone transgendered one too…with more conviction.  I’m just sayin…

Leave a Reply

